T/20 World Cup Winners


As of my last knowledge update in September 2021, here is a list of the ICC T20 World Cup winners:

  • 2007: India
  • 2009: Pakistan
  • 2010: England
  • 2012: West Indies
  • 2014: Sri Lanka
  • 2016: West Indies
  • 2020: The ICC T20 World Cup scheduled for 2020 was postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic and rescheduled for 2021.

Please note that there may have been additional T20 World Cup tournaments held since my last update in 2021, so I recommend checking the most recent sources for the latest information on T20 World Cup winners.

2007: India

The 2007 Cricket World Cup, also known as the ICC Cricket World Cup 2007, was the ninth edition of the Cricket World Cup. It was held in the West Indies from March 13 to April 28, 2007. This tournament was notable for several reasons, including its format, which featured a Super 8 stage and the unexpected victory of the Indian cricket team. Here are some key details about the 2007 Cricket World Cup:

  • Host Country:

The West Indies (Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, and Trinidad and Tobago).

  • Winner:

India won the 2007 Cricket World Cup. They defeated Pakistan in the final to claim their second World Cup title. The final was held at the Kensington Oval in Bridgetown, Barbados, on April 28, 2007.

  • Final Match:

In the final, India batted first and scored 157 runs. Pakistan was bowled out for 152 runs, giving India a 5-run victory in a low-scoring thriller.

  • Tournament Highlights:

Australia’s remarkable 29-match unbeaten streak in World Cup matches came to an end during this tournament when they were defeated by Pakistan in the group stage.

  • Glenn McGrath of Australia was the leading wicket-taker in the tournament, and Matthew Hayden of Australia was the top run-scorer.
  • This World Cup was marred by rain interruptions, especially during the Super 8 stage, which led to several matches being affected by the Duckworth-Lewis method.
  • The 2007 Cricket World Cup is also remembered for some controversies, including the death of Pakistan’s coach, Bob Woolmer, during the tournament, which initially sparked suspicions of foul play but was later determined to be natural causes.
  • India’s victory in 2007 was a significant moment in the country’s cricket history, and it marked the resurgence of Indian cricket on the global stage.

2009: Pakistan

The winner of the ICC World Twenty20 (Cricket) 2009 was Pakistan. Pakistan emerged as the champions of the tournament by defeating Sri Lanka in the final. The final match was held at Lord’s Cricket Ground in London on June 21, 2009. Pakistan won the final by scoring 139 runs for the loss of 2 wickets and restricting Sri Lanka to 138 runs for the loss of 6 wickets, securing a thrilling victory by one run. This victory marked Pakistan’s first ICC World Twenty20 title.

Certainly, here are the complete details of the ICC World Twenty20 (Cricket) 2009, including information about the teams, format, matches, and the final:

  • Host Country:


  • Dates:

June 5, 2009, to June 21, 2009

  • Participating Teams:

The 2009 ICC World Twenty20 featured 16 teams, which included:

  • Full Member Teams:
  • Australia
  • Bangladesh
  • England (Hosts)
  • India
  • New Zealand
  • Pakistan
  • South Africa
  • Sri Lanka
  • West Indies
  • Zimbabwe
    • Associate Teams:
  • Afghanistan
  • Canada
  • Ireland
  • Netherlands
  • Format:

The tournament followed a format consisting of three stages:

  1. Group Stage:

The 16 teams were divided into four groups of four teams each (Groups A, B, C, and D). Each team played three group-stage matches, and the top two teams from each group advanced to the Super 8 stage.

  1. Super 8 Stage:

The top eight teams from the group stage were divided into two groups (Groups E and F). In this stage, each team played two Super 8 matches. The top two teams from each Super 8 group advanced to the semifinals.

  1. Knockout Stage:

The semifinals and the final were part of the knockout stage.

Final Match:

  • Date:

June 21, 2009

  • Venue:

Lord’s Cricket Ground, London

Final Match Details:

  • Pakistan batted first and scored 139 runs for the loss of 2 wickets in their allotted 20 overs. Kamran Akmal was the top scorer for Pakistan with an unbeaten 37.
  • In reply, Sri Lanka managed to score 138 runs for the loss of 6 wickets in their 20 overs. Kumar Sangakkara top-scored for Sri Lanka with 64 runs.
  • Pakistan won the final by just one run in a thrilling contest.


Pakistan emerged as the champions of the ICC World Twenty20 2009.

Tournament Awards:

  • Player of the Tournament: Shahzaib Hasan (Pakistan)
  • Leading Run-Scorer: Kamran Akmal (Pakistan)
  • Leading Wicket-Taker: Umar Gul (Pakistan)

The 2009 ICC World Twenty20 was a significant event in the history of T20 cricket, featuring exciting matches and performances by players from around the world. Pakistan’s victory in the final was celebrated as a historic moment for their cricket team, marking their first ICC World Twenty20 title.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here